You’re like, a celebrity now…

Pregnant with twins or multiples? Just wait. You’re practically going to be a celebrity.

Everyone loves babies, of course. But, I didn’t realize how fascinated people were by twins, until I got pregnant. When I started to show, everyone asked the typical questions: when are you due and what are you having. As soon as I would say that I was having a boy and a girl, you could see their face light up. A boy AND a girl?! Granted, my frame is tall and thin. I could have very well passed as having a singleton, and could imagine their surprise when I told them I was walking around with two buns in the oven, but it never failed. Que all the questions and comments: “Are you having a C-Section or natural?” “Are they identical or fraternal” “My uncle’s cousin’s friend is a twin!”

Think that was the end? Oh no, no, no. Now, they’re born.

After the twins were a few weeks old, we started taking them out, because, well, you have to continue living your life. Here’s what I’ve learned with my new “celeb” status:

  • If there is a child of talking age within close vicinity to you, you better believe he/she will squeal “babies” and point at them. At this point, the parent will turn to look, and say “she has two babies”.
  • If at any point someone is around you long enough to look inside your stroller, you’re going to be stopped (with a screeching, “TWINS?!”) and talked to. This is definitely going to happen if it’s a woman of older age, think “grandma”.
  • Everyone asks their sex, as if it weren’t obvious by the outfits they are wearing. 
  • Also, “Do twins run in your family?”. (PS. This isn’t the only way you can have twins- IVF, being 35 years old+, and stopping birth control can yield twins) 
  • Everyone, I mean, E V E R Y ONE comments about how you have your hands full.
  • You’ll hear the words “bless your heart” a few times, too.
  • You’ll probably be cornered once or twice.
  • And again, “Are they identical [or fraternal]?”

I’ll admit, it’ll get annoying when you’re asked the same questions on a daily basis (especially when you’re exhausted), but it’s pretty comical, too. I always have to remind myself that people are so excited about multiples and want to talk to you, because not everyone gets to have more than one baby at once!

Leave a Reply

